Penny McKay Memorial Award for Best Thesis in Australian Language Education

Jan 1, 2000 | Penny McKay Memorial Award | 0 comments

This is a national award for an outstanding doctoral thesis which benefits the teaching and learning of second/additional languages in Australian schools, including Indigenous languages, community languages, foreign languages, Standard Australian English as an additional language or variety, and English as a foreign language.

The Award is jointly offered by the Australian Council of TESOL Associations (ACTA), the Applied Linguistics Association of Australia (ALAA) and the Association for Language Testing and Assessment of Australia and New Zealand (ALTAANZ). It is administered by ALAA.

The closing date for this year’s applications is 31 October 2023.

Please send all submissions to the chair of the selection panel, Prof Chris Davison, by the deadline.

For further details about the Award, please go to: Who we are – Australian Council of TESOL Associations

Make sure you follow the application guidelines and that you are eligible.

The Award was established and is maintained from donations from individuals, professional associations and other institutions in Australia and overseas. To donate to the maintenance of this Award, or for further details, please email Prof Chris Davison,

Recipients to date



Susan Creagh (University of Queensland)

A Foucauldian and quantitative analysis of NAPLaN, the category ‘Language Background Other Than English’ and English as a Second Language level.

Julia Rothwell (Queensland University of Technology)

Let’s eat the captain! Thinking, feeling, doing: Intercultural language learning through process drama.


Jennifer Alford (Queensland University of Technology)

Conceptualisations and enactment of Critical Literacy for senior high school EAL learners in Queensland, Australia: Commitments, constraints and contradictions.


No award.


No award


Amanda Hiorth (University of Melbourne)

“I want to grow my country”: Refugee-background Karen students in transitions: Experiences in the move from language school to mainstream schooling.


No award.


Kathryn MacFarlane (Monash University)

Transformational Change for Primary Years’ Foreign Language Programs: Developing Oral Language Skills for Spoken Interaction in the Classroom


Bonita Cabiles (University of Melbourne)

Participation and cultural and linguistic diversity: An in-depth qualitative inquiry of an Australian primary classroom


Denise Angelo (Australian National University)

Countering misrecognition of Indigenous contact languages and their ecologies